Latest Events

25 Dec 2017
12:01AM - 11:00PM
Christmas
01 Jan 2018
08:00AM - 11:00PM
New year's day
02 Jan 2018
06:00AM - 11:00PM
Day After New years day
31 Jan 2018
06:00AM - 06:00PM
Thaipoosam Cavadee
01 Feb 2018
08:00AM - 06:00PM
Abolition of Slavery

MAURITIUS

With so many events to choose from, we wanted to highlight a couple of annual events that are special to Mauritius that you will not want to miss out on if you have the chance. You might want to plan your visit to coincide with one of these or one of the public holidays or religious festivals listed here. Do not forget to check the events calendar page to find out what is happening on those special days or on any other day!

  • The Mahebourg Regatta

    The regatta in Mahebourg is an occasion not to be missed if you are visiting the country in May. A tradition which was started in the south of the island by sailing enthusiasts in the 19th century, mainly involves the traditional local pirogues, adorned with colourful sails. The race is immensely popular and draws huge crowds of locals and tourists alike. While you watch from the shore, you will be immersed in the festive atmosphere filled with lively local sega tunes and enjoy the variety of delicious local snacks and beverages available to please your tastebuds. You are sure to enjoy the day!
  • Maha Shivratree

    In the Hindu calendar, Maha Shivratree – which translates as the ‘Great Night of Lord Shiva’, is one of the most auspicious festivals, celebrated in Mauritius with much devotion and intensity, usually in the month of February. Mauritius is the only country outside of India where devotees make a pilgrimage, most often on foot, from all parts of the island, to a Shiva temple and deep crater lake, Ganga Talao, in the south west of the island, which has a symbolic connection to the River Ganga in India. Pilgrims decorate ‘Kanwars’ – often elaborately decorated bamboo pole structures, with bells, flowers and depictions of idols affixed, which are then carried on the shoulders of one or more devotees, as some can stand at 4 or 5 metres in height. Devotees are able to stop along the way for juice or water and volunteer led stalls, and when they reach Ganga Talao they worship and make special food offerings at the temple. Non-hindus and tourists are also known to make the pilgrimage, to experience the spiritual ambience of Ganga Talao and unique atmosphere at this time of year.

Public Holidays

Date - 2017

New Year Sunday 1 January
New Year Monday 2 January
Chinese Spring Festival Saturday 28 January
Abolition of Slavery Wednesday 1 February
Thaipoosam Cavadee Thursday 9 February
Maha Shivaratree Friday 24 February
Independence and Republic Day Sunday 12 March
Ugaadi Wednesday 29 March
Labour Day Monday 1 May
*Eid-Ul-Fitr Monday 26 June
Ganesh Chaturthi Saturday 26 August
Divali Thursday 19 October
All Saints Day Wednesday 01 November
Arrival of Indentured Labourers Thursday 2 November
Christmas Monday 25 December